Your Board members

Home > About Us

T​he LGIS self-insurance Scheme comprising of LGIS Liability, LGIS WorkCare and LGIS Property is governed by a Board of Directors, including nine Directors. The LGIS Board includes four members from LGIS membership, the President and Chief Executive Officer of WALGA and three independent members who are selected on the basis of a particular expert skill or specialty.

The role of the LGIS Board is to provide overall strategic direction and take governance responsibility for achieving the projects and interests of the Scheme and its members.​

LGIS Board Members
From left Cr Lynn Craigie, Mr Howard King, Ms Ricky Burges, Mr Andrew Sharpe, Ms Eileen Newby, Mr Aaron Cook, Mayor Tracey Roberts, Mr Peter Forbes and Cr Paul Omodei​


Mr Howard King – Chairman

Howard spent 33 years at Wesfarmers culminating in him being the Chief Executive Officer of Wesfarmers Federation Insurance Limited (WFI). Howard helped to position WFI as the leading insurer in rural and regional Australia.

Ms Ricky Burges - WALGA

Ricky has extensive knowledge and understanding of WA Local Government as Chief Executive Officer of WALGA since February 2000.

Cr Lynn Craigie –Shire of East Pilbara

Elected President of WALGA in July 2015, Lynne Craigie has been a State Councillor since April 2008. Cr Craigie has been President of the Shire of East Pilbara for ten years and Councillor since 2003. Amongst other significant roles and responsibilities Cr Craigie is Chairperson of the Pilbara Regional Council, Newman Women’s Shelter, Newman Visitors Centre and Newman Senior High School Board.

Mayor Tracey Roberts - City of Wanneroo

Tracey is widely experienced in local government as an elected member and heavily involved in the strategic leadership of one of the fastest growing local governments in Australia. Tracey is also the vice president of WALGA​.

Mr Aaron Cook - Shire of Narrogin

Aaron has held a variety of senior roles within local government for approximately 12 years and now holds the positon as Chief Executive Officer of the Shire of Narrogin.

Mr Andrew Sharpe - City of Albany

Andrew has over 25 years working in both private and public sector in the areas of taxation, financial management and administration and is currently the Chief Executive Officer for the City of Albany.

Cr Paul Omodei

Paul has been involved in local government as a President, Deputy President, and Councillor, acting Chief Executive Officer, Commissioner and Minister spanning more than 20 years. Paul is currently a Councillor at the Shire of Manjimup. Paul is also a Board Member of WA Local Government Grants Commission, member of the Southern Forest Water for Food Steering Committee, Warren Donnelly Ministerial Advisory Committee and Chairman of the Manjimup Senior High School Board.

Ms Eileen Newby – independent

Eileen is currently a director, treasurer and audit committee chair of two not for profit Boards, is employed as an accountant and is the company director and secretary of multiple private companies.

Mr Peter Forbes – independent

A chartered accountant, he is a former Chief Executive Officer​ of specialist medical indemnity mutual MDA National and former managing director of its wholly owned insurer, MDA National Insurance Pty Ltd. He is Chair of Victorian health fund provider Transport Health. Mr Forbes was a founding partner and former managing director of the WA branch chartered accountants HLB Mann Judd. He was also director of LawCover, the NSW statutory insurer for NSW solicitors, from 2004 to 2010, a Board Member of the East Metropolitan Health Services Board and the Lions Eye Institute.